You are currently viewing Watch live: Ballon d’or 2023 ceremony.

Watch live: Ballon d’or 2023 ceremony.

One of the most important individual football trophies that a soccer player may win each year is the Ballon d’Or. In 2023, France Football will celebrate the 67th year of their Golden Ball award, which was first given out in 1956.

The various categories of the trophy includes:

  • Men Ballon D’or Winner
  • Women Ballon D’or Winner
  • Best Men Club of the year
  • Best Women Club of the year
  • Gerd Muller Trophy
  • Socrates Award
  • Yashine Trophy

The Kopa Trophy is the award for the best U21 player, and it’s voted by former Ballon D’or winners.

Winner: Jude Bellingham.Jamal Musiala came second, and Pedri came third. Eden Hazard presented Jude the award.

Jude Bellingham receives the Kopa trophy.

The Socrates award, given to the football with great concern and commitment to charity and social projects.

Vinicius Jnr was the winner for his fight against racism and his hard work in Education in Brazil.

Vinicius wins the Socrates award.

The women team of the year: the award is given to the women football club with most Ballon d’or nominations for that year.

Winner: FC Barcelona feminine. They won the La Liga and the Champions League.

Joan Laporta receives the women club of the year award for FC Barcelona.

Yachine Trophy: this is the award for the best goal keeper of the season. Voted by the former winners of the Ballon D’or Trophy since it’s inception.

Winner: Emiliano Martinez for his outstanding performance in the world cup and crucial penalty saves during the tournament that helped Argentina win the World Cup.

Emi Martinez with the Yashine Trophy.

Gerd Muller trophy: Introduced last year, this award is given to the player with the most goals scored in the season.

Winner: Erling Haaland. Gary Lineker was the one who presented him the award.

Erling Haaland received the Gerd Muller trophy.

Men team of the year: The award is given to the men football club with the most nominations in the Ballon D’or.

Winner: Manchester City.

Manchester City players with the Best Men Club of the year award.

Women Ballon D’or: This award is given to the best women footballer of the year. Voted by 50 different journalist from FIFA top 100 countries.

Winner: Aitana Bonmati (FC Barcelona).

Men Ballon D’or: This award is given to the best men football of the year.Voted by 100 journalists from FIFA top ranked countries, as they pick their top 5 from the Ballon D’or Top 30 shortlist.

Winner: Lionel Messi.

Ballon D'or 2023 winner: Messi

As a side note, it’s important to note that France football changed the system of the entire nomination and voting process this year, since it’s decision last season came under serious scrutiny after Lionel Messi won the award ahead of Lewandoski.

In case you missed the event, EmperorA brings you the full event. Enjoy.

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply